Being Green? Easy as Pie

…at first.  But then you keep with it, and you stick it out.  And you get addicted to it.

I won’t go into details of why I haven’t written.  No, I didn’t abandon the blog.  Yes, I was dealing with…life.  But mostly it’s just because I can’t just sum up a short message and relay it.  I make my points, expand on it, elaborate, give links and details and pictures and ramble on, creating endless run on sentences that turn a brief prose into an essay.  There were a million things I wanted to share with you, but a billion words to organize.  I’m making a point of short-and-sweet today.

So the update:

1) Some of my symptoms are better, some are just as mysterious as ever.

2) Junk and intolerable junk sneaked into my nutritional lifestyle.  I gradually slipped up before I even noticed it.

3) I watched Forks Over Knives. Husband watched it too! http://www.forksoverknives.com/

4) Next day, gave into a Dunkin Donuts craving.  Mid-bite, stopped to meditate on the types of people serving, eating, and walking in to the chain store, felt gross, threw it away and went for a walk.

5) I hunkered down on a gluten-free-vegan-wholefoods-plant-based-diet.  A real mouthful.

The things I have learned once you take the dive:

1) Husbands notice the changes: cleared up skin, wrinkles diminished, hair shinier, no bloating.

2) It’s not that expensive if you buy local produce and give up the Publix.

3) It’s allergy free and prevents ailments of all kinds, for all those who constantly complain of allergies, fatigue, memory loss, sleep related problems, bad periods, aging….

4) Very addicting and hard to bite into a block of cheese when you know how great you feel and look if you just make a fruit juice instead.

5) It just feels closer to nature, in a world so far from it.

At this point, I’m starting to accept that my autoimmune disease is here to stay, but it would be irresponsible to give up and keep eating like crap, whining about it, and not applying what I know about integral nutrition, only to succumb to medication because I have no energy to boil water.  It’s what I deeply love and believe.  Ever since I was a kid, I remember having books on how to wash the skin or how to make homemade beauty products.  But as grew up and fell out of the childish connection, I argued for my right to “Live to eat” and not vice versa.  I resisted the diets because it just wasn’t fair that I can’t eat a piece of cake when I crave it.  That’s not living, I said.  As an adult, I’ve flirted with the diets, dated them here and there, but fall out of commitments out of stagnancy or hard times.  But hear you me, if watching the above mentioned documentary doesn’t move your conscious and responsibility,  we’ve fallen way too deep into the selfish lifestyle that will deteriorate us into an ugly sickly society.

Here’s another documentary that should bring awareness into the way we’ve been deceived to mistreat our bodies in the name of convenience and pleasure-seeking.  By now, even the young ones has all been exposed to a beloved friend or family member with cancer, obesity, or chronic disease.   Our food is our best medicine, we just need the tools on how to use it.  We need to relearn what we thought we knew; the information pushed into minds by marketing, pharmaceutical companies, and large corporations. http://www.foodmatters.tv/

Some might say I’m obsessed with this view, that it is not balanced.  And I would’ve agreed with them on the obsession part.  But the FOK documentary put it best.  Some might say a plant based whole foods diet is extreme.  They could never do it.  But slicing out an artery from your leg, opening up your chest and inserting it into your heart to clear a blockage…some would say that is extreme!  This was on eye opener for me.  There is no shame in letting people know there is better education out there on ways to eat.  I had to teach myself because I didn’t know better.  It’d be irresponsible of me not to share what I knew if someone wasn’t doing well, what they could do to prevent getting sick, short, or long term.  Let thy medicine be thy food.  I wish I was there when Hippocrates said it.

I am not dieting.  I am transitioning my nutritional lifestyle as I learn.  And I will continue to share as I go along.  Please pick up what you will and if what I say doesn’t seem credible…that’s fine.  Do your own research.  Go ahead, challenge me.  But you can’t tell me being healthier is boring and bland….

I leave you with my latest culinary discoveries:  Two desserts that are pure health into your tummy and sheer party-in-your-pants pleasure. As orgasmic as it is, they are raw! Meaning that its nutrient packed.  Your body, mind, and skin will thank you.

Click on the pics for the easy, inexpensive, side effects free (unless your allergic to walnuts) recipes:

Raw Vegan Key Lime Mousse - Healthy Blender Recipes

 

Raw Gluten Free Vegan Pumpkin Pie* - Hail Merry Blog

*Also listed is a baked pumpkin pie (still gluten free).  I have not made it so I can’t vouch for it.  Only for the raw version.  It’s so sexy.  The sweet potato version was also exquisite, just heavier.

I have so much to share. The conversation continues…

 

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Foodsies, Loopy Lupus, Picture of Health

7 responses to “Being Green? Easy as Pie

  1. Yay! Glad you’re back. As always, you are brilliant and correct, and someday society will be smarter about food.

    Also, really want that mousse:)

    • Katie…one of my favorite readers!!! Hope you are well. I’ve got to check your blog soon and see whats going on there. And yes…do yourself a favor and try that mousse. oh my gaw. And different to dairy sugar packed mousses that only make you crave more, I find that its easy to enjoy it for the moment and eat a normal portion, and be totally satisfied.

  2. Naner

    This is such an eye opener. I saw fork over knives and food matters. If only more people would pay attention and make the change. Even if it would be a small change it would be good. It would save lives. Thanks so much!! You are back!! I’m definitely going to try the mousse.

  3. Wait…does this mean you are going to drop meat? Or you were talking in general?

  4. Naner

    I don’t think I could drop it completely but it could certainly be a “once every while” thing 🙂 However, I do believe that raw greens to need to be in everyone’s daily diet.

Leave a Reply

