Organics promo at my favorite: VITACOST!

Save $10 off a plethora of natural and organic products at Vitacost! Click on the Twitter Twotts link at the top left of my page! If you help me build rewards, I will bake you this baby (with no refined sugar) and tell you all about it!

Vegan, Gluten Free, Pumpkin Carrot Cake & Maple Ginger Frosting, Hail Merry Indeed!

On the next blog post, I will be sharing the incredible, no-brainer, common sense, sources with guidelines on how to heal through food.  I talk a lot about doing something, anything, to improve your diet to prevent or reverse disease, but I haven’t been specific on how to go about it.  That’s because I myself didn’t know.  I drop dairy here, substitute a grain here and there, and take a supplement when I think it’ll benefit, but here’s what I have learned…TAKE NOTE: You can’t heal your aches and pains without intent and a plan.  You can’t just say, I’m going to eat healthier or eat wheat instead of white bread and suddenly become healthy.

Teaching your body to absorb food as fuel, in this modern world so deficient of readily available nutrients, means taking in knowledge, writings lists, learning new recipes, and completely transforming -with an open mind- almost everything we thought we knew about eating.

That sounds like too much work already doesn’t? Take is from Little Miss I-Can’t-Because (INSERT EXCUSE):  It’s doable.  It’s taken years to get to the point where I’ve embraced it.  I’ve stopped resisting the right to eat a burger that’s been scrubbed through ammonia or a soda that I saw clean rust off my car’s engine with my own eyes.  It’s taken me years to drop the fact that “everything in moderation” is a good mantra, because its not true.  Some foods and habits will always be received as hostile in our bodies and mind.

The good news is, you don’t have to do it in one week, or even one month.  If you already agree a path to health is the way to go, get used to the idea.  Pick up a book, read one of the websites I will provide.  You don’t have to buy into everything you read.  Just try one or two cleansing or healing changes and your body will start appreciating it.  If you truly listen to your body, it will be second-nature to move on to the next step.  It’s actually better to make the changes slowly, because too much too fast freaks out our delicate bodies (toxin release needs time to exit the body, if not they just hang around and get absorbed right back in).

Vitacost – easy transitions

So today’s blog is about a few things to add or substitute in our lives.  Some already know the health benefits involved, some will get to know them soon.  The education on what we’re truly consuming from Johnson&Johnson, Kraft and Kellog’s is slowly getting out there and people are beginning to say that there is nothing you can eat or use that won’t kill you anymore!!! Wrong.  Here is my favorite website and here is a little review on the things I swear by.  They have changed my life…Vitacost.

The prices are absolutely reasonable; sometimes the same as the cost of Walmart and Target retail products or less.  If you already shop at a health food store, these prices are even lower.  For $49.00 or more, shipping is free.  Anything less, you only pay $5.  $5 is the amount of gas I spend to go to Whole Foods.  Buy two products here, and I’ve already saved my money and a trip to the stores.  No need to worry about produce, because I buy that from local farmer markets.  If you’re tight on money, I use their BillMeLater option.  No interest charged if you pay within the month.  Say I spend $100. I don’t have to pay it until the statement comes in a month and then I pay $25 a week until the balance is gone.  Voila!

(If you choose to start purchasing, be a doll and use my link from Twitter Twotts above.  They have a promotions where you get $10 off your first purchase!!!!) (And so will I, off my next purchase).

$6.99

Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

I don’t know where to start on how much healthier Coconut Oil is than any other oil.  Most oils damage the cellular structure of the foods we cook, even healthy cooking, creating radical damage to the cells, increasing acidity in our bodies, throwing off our true sensor of fullness, and have harmful saturated fats.  Coconut on the other hand, contains acids that fight bacteria and viruses, has medium chain fatty acids that promote weight loss, helps regulate cholesterol and thyroid issues.  The benefits are endless, read about it with Dr. Mercola. I remember when I used to think he was a quack.  Anyway, you can use it on your hair as a treatment to make your color pop, dry scalp, and thicken it up.  You can use it on your skin and face to help your pores breath from all the other junk we have to put on our decaying faces.  This tub yields a long way.  Makes the house smell delicious when you use it.  Chicken stir frys will never be the same (if you eat chicken). The price is great for a health food.

$4.63

Giovanni Tea Tree Triple Treat Shampoo (and Conditioner)

If you’re still buying cheap shampoo with chemicals, you really oughta stop.  Your hair is important and you don’t want it to be pretty right now; You want it to be strong and healthy until the day we finally rot.  This costs the same as the lab-contents used for Pantene or Loreal, but reaps a million times the benefits.  I once raved about the Giovanni 50/50 shampoo and conditioner, but this one takes the cake.  It’s more natural than the previous one.  But what makes it shine -pun intended- is the Tea Trea Oil, which I already love to use for cleaning products.  With Lupus,  hair loss comes with the package.  Once I started using this, the problem disappeared almost instantly.  Recently I switched to another organic shampoo because I couldn’t find this one at TJMaxx and in a few weeks my hair began to wilt away again.  My scalp dried up, became itchy, and had tiny pimplish lesions.  I was freaking out wondering where I went wrong! To test my theory about the shampoo, I grabbed my pure TTO bottle and lathered up a few drops with the expensive shampoo I’d replaced it with.  Immediately you can feel the blood rush and mintiness go to the follicles and the cool relief on the little bumps.  Hair is shiny and bouncy again.  It’s all about circulation! Bringing fresh healthy blood to your locks!

So if you’ve mistreated your hair chemically, it’s dry and limp, lacking nutrients, don’t breathe well when you sleep (crooked at the next), or you suspect it has build-up at the follicles, please please please…. Buy this.  I buy two at a time since it’s so inexpensive and I use it a lot.  Or just buy the TTO, $4.97, and mix a few drops each time you pump your current shampoo. I would douse myself in this miraculous oil if I could.  I just ordered the Giovanni Leave-In Conditioner and will tell you how that goes.

$29.74

New Wave Enviro Premium Shower Filter

Speaking of luscious hair, if your water at home or apt sucks or you’re too average to have an in-home-all-over filtering system, this is the thing to splurge on.  It’s not much, it’s lasts about six months, though I swear there is so much chlorine where I live that we replace it about every 3 months.  Also, his showers are longer than Mariah Carey’s.  This really makes a big difference is suppleness and shine.  All those chemicals seep into your head and brain.  I even used to get headaches after showering since I’m sensitive to chemicals.  The refill is $21 after the first buy.  At Whole Foods, this filter costs $50 I believe; the replacement: $30.

I’m having so much fun!! What else to share!!

$10.39

Stevia (natural calorie free sugar subsitute)

With fiber of all things.  I got this one pounder because I needed a sweetener, and it didn’t hurt to have some extra fiber.  If you haven’t learned about the horrors of sugar yet, please do horrify yourself : Why everyone needs to understand sugar hangover; The Emotional and Physical Effects.  Not to mention why your kid won’t stop doing floor pinwheels.  If you think you’re doing good by taking Truvia or Stevia in the Raw, check your ingredients again! They contain Erithyrol or something else ending in “enol” which they will convince you its natural and safe.  Well, thanks to there being no law defining what natural is…plutonium is also natural..you get scammed.  It’s something that when fermented turns into formaldehyde.  Could it be that bad?  I was once doing vegan and natural, hardcore, but nothing would explain why every time I had my tea or anything else with Truvia, my brain would tremble and get inflamed.  Wanna play with your brain like that?  I know it seems drastic, but if you already have chronic fatigue, an autoimmune disease, cancer and diabetes in your family history..start playing around with the idea of a natural sweetener.  This one takes some getting used to, but we all bought into Splenda for a while, didn’t we?  You won’t feel the hint of bitter soon.  It’s also super concentrated so you only have to use a pinch and it goes a long way. Flirt around with this and then we’ll talk about how we should be getting our sugars only from pure fruits and how yummy it is to do so once we can make time and effort to think of it from a natural standpoint.  It’s a little more expensive if you’re used to refined sugar, but its worth the money to lose a few pounds and lose the dependency from a evil little ingredient.

$13.59

$14.96

Plant Protein

Sorry, didn’t know how to picture this side by side with our new format on WordPress.  For years I drank dairy based protein shakes made from casein and whey when I strength trained.  If you read the China Study, you will learn how detrimental these proteins are for our potential cancer cells.  Not to mention the sugar free ones that were loaded with aspartame and all the processed hard-to-digest ingredients that make you bloated!  I’ve decided not to do protein shakes anymore, but my husband was still having this.  Slowly joining me on my health kick, he’s agreed to switch to these proteins, organic, allergy, dairy, gluten-free, and loaded with veggies and good grains.  And they taste amazing with almond milk and fruits if you don’t want to eat a whole meal.  They are incredibly delicious, available in a few other flavors. And with Vitacost, there are Vitacost brand sales all the time.  I just bought two Plant Proteins for $6.00 each.  That’s just retarded.

As long as I’m on this health kick, it behooves me to go to bed.  I have so many more products to share, but they will have to wait.  I will review and discuss Chia seeds, raw apple cider vinegar, probiotics, and chemical free makeup.  I will write soon and hope you find these products helpful.  Feel free to look for other great products to replace with organic equivalents, like deodorants, wrinkle creams, detergent, toothpaste, canned foods, vitamins, minerals, dried fruits, cereals, raw cacao powder, gluten free flours….just about anything.

Happy Health!

P.S.  Thanks so much for reading.  Hope you think about some of these items and make a $10-off purchase from the link above!

It's just teasing us, isn't it? Click link for recipe.

10 Comments

Filed under Foodsies, Housewifing, Indulgence, Loopy Lupus, Picture of Health

10 responses to “Organics promo at my favorite: VITACOST!

  1. Regarding Stevia and other such sweeteners, consider this:
    “Stylianos Nicolaidis had demonstrated that rats secrete insulin in response to the mere taste of a sweet substance.”
    More on the taste of sweetness stimulating insulin secretion is at http://blog.zeroinginonhealth.com/?p=171

  2. Pingback: The Beauty Detox Solution, I just can’t keep it to myself! | Housewifing Around

  3. Pingback: $10 Sell Out and Treats | Housewifing Around

  4. Naner

    Pumpkin Carrot Cake looks yummy!! Ima try the link for vitacost. Hopefully I can figure it out. You know Im not cyber wise…

  5. Naner

    Hey! Not only we can bake it and eat it together…..it can be your anniversary cake. I’m so excited!!! Are you here yet??? I love your blogs. I’m making a list of all of the products I wanna get. I will call you before I make the order sometime nx wk.

    • Just call me if you need help with anything. I will try to be there 5 days. We’ll see. BTW: I’m pretty sure it was Chelios trying to nuzzle my face with his nose while I slept that wrecked my face. I faked being asleep and he came and sat on my face.

  6. Heck yea! You just reminded me I need to make an order. Shopping for it at Trader Joes will be magical!

  7. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your
    web site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?

    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I were a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided shiny transparent concept

  8. Car shopping is something which almost all adults will face in their
    lives. If you want to drive, you’ll have to buy yourself a car. The simple ideas below will help you turn the car buying process into something you not only can handle, but that you are a master of.

  9. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the
    web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get
    irked while people think about worries that they just don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

